Gigs this week (23rd November)

Welcome to this week’s update on upcoming gigs! Here are my gigging plans for the week, but what about you? Interested to hear what everyone else is up to so let me know with a comment below!

Malcolm Middleton – Bush Hall (Tues 24th Nov)

Other than Xmas single ‘We’re All Going To Die’ a few years back, and one or two Arab Strap songs, I’m not very familiar with the music of Malcolm Middleton. I was impressed with his performance at End Of The Road this year though, and a quick listen to recent album ‘Waxing Gibbous’ on Spotify suggested he’s worth seeing again.

With the suitable title for this time of year ‘Malcolm Middleton’s Long, Dark Night’, it promises lots of songs about love, hate, death and ‘other stuff’. Sounds good to me!

The Leisure Society – St. Giles In The Field (Wed 25th Nov)

If the previous night puts me in a miserable mood, The Leisure Society are sure to perk me up again with their bright and uplifting orchestral pop songs. After a few superb festival appearances this year (End Of The Road and King’s Place in King’s Cross) I’m looking forward to a full headline show.

I’ve also heard great things about the venue, which is new to me. This month’s gigs have been great for discovering new venues (something that doesn’t happen too often) – I’ve also experienced my first visits to The Flowerpot, The Coronet and The Tabernacle during November.

ReGenesis – Shepherd’s Bush Empire (Sat 28th Nov)

After the prog revival incorporated into last week’s Decemberists gig (read review), I’m hugely excited to see the songs of Peter Gabriel era Genesis being played live, even if by a tribute band. It makes sense that a tribute is dedicated to just one era of the original, the Gabriel and Collins eras of the band being vastly different in sound.

What I’ve read suggests they do a good job of recreating the sound and look (including a range of bizarre costumes that Peter Gabriel was famous for wearing). I’m looking forward to the chance to see tracks such as ‘The Return Of The Giant Hogweed’, ‘The Musical Box’ and ‘Dancing With The Moonlit Knight’ performed live.

[Revere – Brixton Windmill (Sat 28th Nov)]

So this one might be a bit ambitious, but if the ReGenesis gig finishes on time I should be able to dash down to Brixton to catch a late headline slot from Revere at the Windmill. It’s a charity gig for a great cause – The National Autistic Society – and following such a great show last weekend at the Flowerpot (read review), I’m keen to grab another chance to see them this year if I can!

Over to you…

Leave a Reply

