Favourite gigs of the year… so far

Following last night’s Decemberists gig at the Coronet being a surprise last-minute contender for my favourite gig of the year (look out for my review over the weekend), I’ve started thinking about what else will be in my top 10.

The last few months have seen quite a few special gigs from Nick Cave, Super Furry Animals, Flaming Lips – all artists that I love but don’t really get to see on a regular basis.

Then there’s the bands & artists that I’ve managed to see lots of times throughout the year – The Acorn, Broken Records, The Low Anthem, Duke Special, I Am Kloot and Revere. Between them I’ve seen many fantastic performances throughout the year, and picking favourites is going to be difficult.

So how about everyone else? Starting to think about which your top gigs of the year have been? Anticipating any late entries over the coming month? Post a comment and let me know!

5 responses to “Favourite gigs of the year… so far

  1. Anthony Chalmers

    ARG! Was I at the same bloody gig as everyone else yesterday! Me and seb both agreed, was pretty good, very good in places but never never never amazing. Anyway all to themselves….

    For me gigs of the year:

    Sons of Noel and Adrian – Union Chapel
    Drum Eyes/Bo Ningen – Catch
    Bo Ningen – Queen of Hoxton
    Drum Eyes – Hoxton Bar and Kitchen
    Daniel Johnston – Union Chapel
    Wildbirds and Peace Drums – EOTR
    Archie Bronson Outfit – EOTR
    Shoreline – Tamesis Dock
    Sons of Noel and Adrian – ICA
    Low Anthem – Ocean Rooms

    Obviously missed a bunch but yea something like that!

  2. Got my provisional Top 40 done (my top 3 are Dan Deacon, Wildbirds and Peacedrums and Ponytail) but reckon there’s a few shows in the coming weeks that might sneak in- Starfucker, Fever Ray, Dirty Three, Battles, Lightning Bolt and Taken By Trees.

  3. My number 1 gig of the year has to be Mew at Shepherds Bush, but that was always going to be pretty special as they’re my favourite band, and it had been 3 years since the last time that I saw them.

    Number 2 would have to be The Decemberists at the Coronet. I just thought there was a great atmosphere, and the band were on amazing form. It was a really nice crowd, where people weren’t afraid to really get into, which makes a nice change, considering how many gigs you can go to in London with people who are “too cool” to tap their foot, let alone dance.

    Then excluding any performances that bowled me over at a festival, other really enjoyable and memorable gigs would be:
    Loney dear @ St. Giles in the Field,
    Emmy the Great @ Oxford Academy,
    Jeremy Warmsley’s Heartbreak ball @ The Slaughtered Lamb,
    Mono @ Scala,
    …Trail of Dead @ Oxford Academy,
    Cursive @ Dingwalls,
    Final Fantasy @ Union Chapel,
    Joy Formidable @ Borderline,
    WHY? @ The Garage,
    Alessi’s Ark @ The Tamesis,
    Twilight Sad @ The Lexington,
    The Get Up Kids @ The Peel,
    Stagecoach @ Notting Hill Arts Club,
    There Will Be Fireworks @ Queen of Hoxton,

    And I’ve still got The Kissaway Trail at The Lexinton to look forward to, so the year’s not over yet!

  4. Anthony Chalmers

    Feel very happy that 2 shows I promoted are on Mark’s favs!

    With I’d seen Dan Deacon at Ulu! Fool am I!

  5. It’s been a bit of a quiet year for me, but there have been some great gigs:
    Richard Hawley@ Brangwyn Hall
    Murcof & Johann Johansonn@ RNCM
    Easy Star Allstars@ Club Academy
    I Am Kloot@ Deaf Institute
    Tunng & Tinariwen@ Academy 2
    Flaming Lips@ Troxy

Leave a Reply

